Annual Awards

The Annual Awards Program highlights sister city program achievements and brings international recognition to each community’s contributions to the citizen diplomacy movement. Sister Cities International established the Annual Awards Program in 1962 to recognize exceptional sister city programs. Current dues-paying members of Sister Cities International with at least one formally recognized sister city partnership are eligible to apply for awards. The awards will recognize achievements by sister city programs from the previous year.

The SCI Annual Awards offer several categories of awards (organized by population), including Best Overall, Innovation in Arts & Culture, Innovation in Business, Trade, and Professional Exchange, Innovation in Humanitarian Assistance, and Innovation in Youth and Education. Additionally, an Annual Award is given for Volunteer of the Year and one for Youth Leadership.

2023 Winners

The winners of the 2023 Sister Cities International (SCI) Annual Awards were announced at the SCI Annual Business Meeting on July 28, 2023. These exceptional programs were highlighted on Sister Cities International’s website, social media, and through national and regional press outreach. Each year, the SCI Annual Awards are an impressive acknowledgement of the impactful work done by Sister Cities International members.

Awards given in the following categories

Best Overall (organized by population)

Innovation in Arts & Culture

Innovation in Business, Trade, and Professional Exchange 

Innovation in Humanitarian Assistance

Innovation in Youth and Education

Volunteer of the Year

Youth Leadership